Our House

History House

Due to the many earthquakes and the constant change of the city, little is known about the history of the site. In any case, the hotel stands on what was once a fortified promontory of the cliff, washed by the sea until 1834. As part of the Concepción fortress, it dominated the port.

According to the stories of former residents, the current house was built on the ruins of a Jesuit monastery. There are many tales of hidden treasures and wandering spirits.

In 1945, the current house was built as the home of a wealthy family who held receptions and parties here.

Two more owners spent long periods of their lives here. In 2016, we fell in love with this place at first sight and had the unique opportunity to acquire this gem.

According to the locals, our hotel stands on the ruins of Fort Concepción. It is very difficult to follow the paths of history due to many environmental influences such as earthquakes and fires which have over the years destroyed the archives and also sometimes entire hills. What a surprise when planting the garden! On digging up the rose bed, a cannonball rolled out of the ground! Is it a remnant of the bombardment by Sir Francis Drake, the English privateer who once sailed into the bay?

When we first came to this house, we were told the horror stories of the “Cueva del Civato”, the “Devil’s Cave” just beneath our house, where countless innocent citizens were robbed and murdered.

Does it really exist, or is it just a myth? We discovered that our house stands on the cliff where the entrance to the mysterious cave used to be. The former owner of the house told us about his childhood and his adventures in the cave. One day his father realised the danger of the children's escapades and the entrance to the cave was bricked up. Only the stories lived on like the memorial plaque at the foot of the steps to the harbour.

Building details

AYCA LA FLORA is a combination of 2 houses:

The hotel’s historic house, built in 1945, stands on the rock of the old Concepción fortress. The building was completely renovated in 2019. Each room now has its own bathroom. The old Lenka wood floors have been preserved.

In 2020 we added a modern extension in industrial style, inspired by the historic shape of the "ascensores" in Valparaíso. The combination of concrete core and steel beams open up unobstructed views of the Chilean city and its harbour.

At the same time, the interior of the rooms creates an interesting contrast: elements of wrought iron are lovingly combined with the natural shapes of local wood.

Building details